Scroll to content
Millfield Primary School Walsall home page

Millfield Primary School

Imagine Immerse Inspire

Contact Us
Content Scroll

Who are our Governors?

The role of the governing board is strategic, its key functions are to:

  • set the aims and objectives for the school
  • set the policies for achieving those aims and objectives
  • set the targets for achieving those aims and objectives
  • monitor and evaluate the progress the school is making towards achievement of its aims and objectives
  • be a source of challenge and support to the headteacher (a critical friend)


The Governors are unpaid volunteers who devote a great deal of time to Millfield School.  We are grateful to them for everything they do to help improve our school.  As Millfield is part of the Cadmus Federation, all Millfield Governors are Cadmus Governors.  Governance of Millfield is delegated to the Governing Committee - detailed below:

Millfield Governing Committee is made up of Local Authority, Co-opted and Parent Governors as follows:


Mr. Ross Doodson - Chair of Governors, Co-opted

Ms. Lesley Sleigh - Co-Vice Chair of Governors, Co-opted

Mr. Jack Pierce - Co-Vice Chair of Governors, Co-opted

Mrs. Lynn Hare - Local Authority Governor

Mrs. Alison Saunders - Co-opted Governor

Mrs. Sabina Smith - Co-opted Governor

Ms. Catherine Simpson - Co-opted Governor

Mrs. Michelle Sheehy - Co-Headteacher

Mrs. Alison Stacey - Co-Headteacher

Mrs. Kate Ehlen - Associate Governor (no voting rights) (Nursery Teacher)

Vacancy for Parent Governor



Millfield Governing Committee